|
If
you receive an email that appears to be from the Halifax bank - don't
be fooled!
Not
only are Halifax customers being and spammed (along with non-Halifax
customers), but other email's purporting to be from other UK banks are also
making their way around the net.
Copy of my email alert to the
Halifax
Dear Halifax,
I'd
like to draw to your immediate attention a fraudulent email that was spammed to
me. (see below).
Unfortunately the fraudster should have been more careful to
whom they send their email too! I'm the Editor of Rip-Off Britain!! In
addition, I'm not a Halifax customer.
Although to the untrained operator the email appears to be genuine, as a
computer expert I can assure you that their URL is masking their true IP
identity which is: 202.181.142.125 (server: 1-255ip.tw.cnlink.net) and appears
to emanate from Hong Kong (with a possible Taiwan connection).
This is no doubt a very serious problem for your bank that
should be widely publicised because of the potential of millions of pounds
being illegally extracted from your customers accounts. I have informed my
friends in the media and will post a warning on my website SAP.
I
trust you are able to legally force www.cnlink.net remove this bogus website
from their servers. Unfortunately, the fraudsters will no doubt move to another
server.
Kind regards, Paul M Editor Rip-Off Britain
The email below, and similar
email's are bogus - DO NOT COMPLY WITH THEIR REQUEST. If you are silly enough
to submit your password and account details you may find your bank account
emptied and your funds transferred to these fraudulent
operators!!
----- Original Message ----- From: Halifax To:
editor@rip-off.co.uk Sent: Sunday, January 18, 2004 10:54 PM Subject:
Important message to all Halifax users.
Dear valued Halifax Online Customer! For security
purposes your account has been randomly chosen for verification. To verify your
account information we are asking you to provide us with all the data we are
requesting. Otherwise we will not be able to verify your identity and access to
your account will be denied. Please click on the link below to get to the
Halifax secure page and verify your account details.
Thank you.
https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/_mem_bin/FormsLogin.asp?/
|